July – The Yacht Races

July on Mackinac typically revolves around 2 big events, the yacht races from Port Huron and Chicago. At this time, the harbor is stuffed full of yachts and makes for some interesting photography. I unfortunately had to work when the boats first arrived on the horizon under the Mackinac Bridge but since my apartment looked out over one of the spots where the yachts docked I was able to still get some good shots. Like I mentioned before, my Canon AE-1 has a bit of a light meter problem so it kept way overexposing the images. Unfortunately, I hadn’t figured out how to fix that yet so some of the boat images turned a bit grainy once I scanned them in and corrected the overexposure.

Other than the races, life on Mackinac continues in much the same way, with lots of biking, hiking and lounging on the beach watching a horse and her rider go for a swim in the lake.

Leave a comment